Pawing at the Dewey Decimal System Essay

Pawing at the Dewey Decimal System Essay

Length: 1208 words (3.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Pawing at the “Dewey” Decimal System
Dewey the library cat is probably one of the most noteworthy cats that has ever been heard of. Dewey is an orange little tabby cat that the writer (Vicki Myron) found in the rain on her way to work, and brought Dewey with her to the library. From that instant Dewey the library cat grew up in a library lying on every book that he has seen. His name came from the Dewey Decimal System. He has unintentionally inspired thousands of people by being himself. He has Myron and the rest of the library staff play with him, feed him, and take care of him. He was truly the cat that everyone who has read it loved him. Even though some people didn't feel the same after reading Dewey. Dewey had a long life in the library that taught people to have fun, be happy, and be nice to people. He changed the author since she found him and being friends for years she wanted to share how she felt. His life is filled with multiple acts that inspire the mass of people who read it.
With Dewey being a small town cat his story lives on giving him friends that he has never met. Dewey has an increasing amount of friends, not in a way most people would expect though. Dewey has befriended everyone in the library in the small town in Iowa, but after he passed away Myron made a book about his life and that has everyone who has read the book feel like they were friends. He has the personality, and curiosity that has ultimately won anyone over. Other than the town being his friends the staff at the library was his true family. Especially Vicki Myron, the reason why was because he was extremely fond of her since day one, their relationship went from friends, to best friends, to family. Myron was the one who took care of him when he...


... middle of paper ...


...y, 5 Jan. 2009. Web. 05 Mar. 2014.

"Dewey the Cat Dies in Librarian's Arms - USATODAY.com." Dewey the Cat Dies in
Librarian's Arms - USATODAY.com. Usa Today, 02 Dec. 2006. Web. 05 Mar. 2014.

"Dewey The Library Cat: A True Story." Publishers Weekly 257.18 (2010): 51-
52. Literary Reference Center. Web. 10 Mar. 2014.

Myron, Vicki, and Bret Witter. Dewey the Library Cat: A True Story. New York: Little,
Brown, 2010. Print.

Rich, Motoko. "Iowa Library's Cat Has a Rich Second Life as a Biography." The New
York Times. The New York Times, 03 Apr. 2007. Web. 05 Mar. 2014.

Wilson, Craig. "Library Cat Dewey Lives on in 'Nine Lives'." USA Today 12 Oct. 2010:
03D. Student Resources in Context. Web. 5 Mar. 2014.

Wright, Lisa. "Dewey The Library Cat: A True Story." Library Media Connection 29.1
(2010): 88.Literary Reference Center. Web. 10 Mar. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on The Dewey Decimal Classification System

- Classification has a system within it that organises knowledge. There is a system of symbols known as notation and this represents the classes in a classification system. The notation is expressed in Arabic numerals in the case of the Dewey Decimal System. It does not matter what words are used to describe subjects the notation will give a unique meaning of the class and say its association to other classes. The notation has the ability to identify the class within which the subject belongs and related classes....   [tags: Dewey Decimal System]

Free Essays
518 words (1.5 pages)

Essay on History of the Dewey Decimal Classification System

- A History of the Dewey Decimal System The history of the Dewey Decimal Classification System (DDC) hearkens back to the very beginning of the modern library movement in the nineteenth century. The classification scheme’s progenitor was a man named Melvil Dewey who was born to a poor family in upstate New York in 1851. 1 His full name was Melville Louis Kossuth Dewey, but he was a man who supported language/spelling reform and had his named shortened to just Melvil Dewey. He even tried to have his family name further shortened to Dui....   [tags: Library Librarian DDC Organization]

Strong Essays
1347 words (3.8 pages)

Essay on The Dewey Decimal Classification: Western and Non-Western Cultures

- Introduction DDC: From West to East This paper is examining how the Dewey Decimal Classification System (DDC) has been adapted and translated in both Western and non-Western Nations and the problems that have arisen during this process. In this paper we will first examine what the DDC is which includes looking into its history specifically into how Mr. Custer helped the DDC become an international classification system. Next we will focus on the problems that arise during the process of adapting and translating the DDC from one culture to another....   [tags: libraries, information, organization, classes]

Strong Essays
1557 words (4.4 pages)

Essay on Technology and the end of Libraries

- As digital natives grow older and technology improves it makes one wonder what the fate of libraries will be. Long gone are the days of the card catalog, with computers taking their place. There is no more browsing the stacks for books on what ever subject has peaked interest, because the Dewey decimal system is no longer taught. Gone are the days of shelves of books as far as you can see, taken away to make room for endless banks of computers, movies and cd's. The click of keys and chatter from private rooms used for multiple purposes is steadily replacing the muffled flipping of pages as technology advances....   [tags: Technology, Libraries, Dewey Decimal System]

Strong Essays
1811 words (5.2 pages)

Essay on History of the Universal Decimal Classification System

- By definition, the Universal Decimal Classification (UDC) is an indexing and retrieval language in the form of a classification for the whole of recorded knowledge, in which subjects are symbolized by a code based on Arabic numerals.[1] The UDC was the brain-child of the two Belgians, Paul Otlet and Henry LaFontaine, who began working on their system in 1889, 15 years after Melvil Dewey established the DDC.[2] Otlet and LaFontaine built their system on the foundation of the DDC with Melvil Dewey’s express permission....   [tags: library librarian UDC organization]

Strong Essays
1638 words (4.7 pages)

Interview At The Cole And Ustick Library Essay

- ... This was true. I helped out with shelving books and movies at the Cole and Ustick Library while in my senior year of high school. I also mentioned that I spent many hours in other libraries just for fun and had picked up skills, like the Dewey Decimal System. Though I do think I did things well, I also had moments where I didn’t answer a question the way I felt I should because of my lack of experience. It took me extra time to answer some questions because I did not want to put myself in a negative light....   [tags: Question, Answer, Dewey Decimal Classification]

Strong Essays
1016 words (2.9 pages)

John Dewey : A Model For Successfully Learning Essay

- ... One of the main arguments of Dewey is that most of the currently industrial society children are not taught about the fundamental principles on which the society was made. As such, they do not have a clue on how to create an ideal society when they grow up (Amner, 1948). Dewey’s other observation was that the traditional education system was subject centred and not children centred. As such the traditional education is only aimed at helping them children pass examination instead of turning the children into critical thinkers who can articulate issues and drive social progress and development in the society....   [tags: Sociology, Education, Teacher, John Dewey]

Strong Essays
1030 words (2.9 pages)

John Dewey And Mr. Howard Zinn Essay

- ... The trouble is, our society does not know how to engage in such a revolution, especially when the majority of the population unconsciously believes nothing to be wrong with the operation of our society. In my opinion, the most feasible solution to correct our unbalanced society is to find a way to follow Dewey’s philosophy. Life cannot be all work and no play and vice versa. I find Zinn’s idea of a revolution to be farfetched. After reading the essays written by two influential men of their time, I realized just that, they were influential men of their time....   [tags: Sociology, Mind, Unconscious mind, John Dewey]

Strong Essays
1599 words (4.6 pages)

John Dewey 's Theory Of Experience And Education Essay examples

- ... He begins with saying” experience does not mean that all experiences are genuinely or equally educative” (Dewey 25) I think it was very smart of him to start off by saying this because it is true. Not every experience one has is going to be a good one. He says that it depends on quality of the experience. When he talks about this he begins to bring up his first principle of continuity. This principle is basically stating that in education one must teach by using the past and future in order to teach the present....   [tags: Education, Teacher, School, John Dewey]

Strong Essays
1238 words (3.5 pages)

John Dewey Essay example

- John Dewey was one of the greatest minds in history. A philosopher, his concern was democracy and its ideals. A thinker about the problems in education. A prominent voice in America, commanding the admiration of those who agreed with his views, and respect for his mind even from those who did not. The man: John Dewey, an American philosopher. Dewey’s pedagogy was one with three distinctive traits: it was democratic in that it called for pluralism. It was a follower of the scientific method in that it was a systemic approach at solving problems and forming judgments, both practical and moral....   [tags: American Philosopher Philosophy]

Strong Essays
1579 words (4.5 pages)